if you want a calmer dog, practcie better time management

Matt-Matt’s appointment was at 4:30. I checked my watch: 2:00 PM. Plenty of time to get there. I sat down to read and before I knew it, it was 4:00 PM. Only 30 minutes to load the fur baby into the car and get to the vet.
When Matt-Matt saw the leash and harness, in typical Matt-Matt style, he barked and bouced around.
What to do. I could wait for him to calm down but then I’d be late for my vet appointment.
Well, I can’t inconvenience my vet because of my poor time management skills.
I threw a leash on Matt-Matt in between bounces and we get to our appointment on time.
.
.
I made it to the vet on time, but I also rewarded Matt-Matt’s excited behavior. If I needed to leave the house at 4:00 PM, and I knew I had a hyper dog, I should have started picking up his leash no later than 3:00 PM.
.
.
If you want a calmer dog, practive never rewarding her for excited behavior.
.
If your dog jumps on you. Look up, say nothing. Pet her when all 4 feet are on the ground.
.
If you rdog spins around in circles when you pick up the leash, put the leash back down, sit down and read until your dog calms down. If you get back up and your dog spins again, then sit back down. This might take a while at first, but soon you dog will learn that he doesn’t go for a walk until he is calm.
.
.
See more on rewarding desireable behaviors in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIvWIyVZoGM

Leave a Reply

